The Family Crisis


I went to my son in the middle of the night as he was having convulsions for the only time in his life before or after.  It had been his 15th birthday, he had not been ill that evening, but was running a temperature of 105 degrees.   I could not handle him, and he even bit me.  He seemed to be terrified.  I called my husband, and together, we got him into a cool tub of water and called the Doctor. 

Actually, our Doctor lived across the street, and our older two sons were both occasional baby sitters for them.  So, he came right over to the house.  He stayed with us for quite awhile.  The boy’s convulsions stopped as his fever came down, but he talked as if in a delirium. 

But, it scared me terribly because I could recognize what he was babbling about as if it had come right out of my dream. But, there was more too, he was saying that someone was attacking him, and trying to drive him out of his own mind.  He also said that he had to keep counting to higher and higher numbers, as the only way to hang on. 
At this my husband said, for the only time he ever had mentioned it, that this was the bad dream he had repeatedly as a child, and that he had just been having it then as we all waked up.  

Before the Doctor left, he said he had seen this happen before, and it is a family crisis, not just the boy’s fever.  He said he would probably be OK by morning, and relatively, he was.  The Dr. wanted me to take a tranquilizer and try to get some sleep.  I did not dare to go back to sleep and I was afraid to dream.

As the aftermath, our son was in a daze the next day, and only pulled out of it  completely over about a week.  He had no fever, but when he would just sit, he would start to go back into that terrified state.  It was the only time I ever asked my husband to stay home from work with us that next day.  

Yet I did seem to know what to do.

 I told my husband that we had to start asking our son what HE wanted to do, and then ask him to think how to do it, NOT tell him how to do it.  In a long standing way his father had felt it was his responsibility to be in charge of his sons, until he felt they were adults.  But, it did not give them the gradual freedom to learn self responsibility for themselves.  

Our 17 year old son had gone through these growing pains the hard way when he was about 15, with much rebellion and restrictive punishment.   But our middle son was still trying to be and do just as he was told.  Our youngest son was only 9, and went back to sleep through this turmoil. 

For this middle son, it had been a problem already, with his brother and other kids ready to order him about as a joke. The older son had been pushing him to rebel. 

But, until then, I had not felt I could tell my husband what to do.  Now, I had to do so.  When I did, he agreed to do this, and it helped.  

This son had been the most obedient kid you could imagine, as if he did not have a rebellious bone in his body.  But, he seemed to be trying to be and to do what others wanted.  

During the days of that week, we moved his older brother into the basement recreation room, and gave this son his room, and insisted he start to plan on paint and new curtains, new decorations, anything to make it his own.  At first, he could hardly think this way, but my husband and I both backed off of telling him a thing, and insisting it was up to him. 

He was home from school all week, and I had him help plan and prepare the meals, even though we did end up having fried chicken almost every night.  I asked his help on everything, setting the table, doing dishes, picking up wet towels, running laundry, cleaning and straightening up, anything and everything. 

He and I shopped for new clothes for him, and I kept making him pick them out.  I kept him so busy he did not have time to sit and go into a funk. 

By the end of the week, the Doctor specifically asked for him to be their baby sitter.  I went over and talked to him about it, because I was afraid he would fall back into the state of mind he had been in, if he was only there to “sit”.  But, the Dr. assured me that trust and responsibility was just what he needed, he would be just fine.  And he was.

In fact, I don’t think the Dr ever charged us for any of this, and we never even asked about a bill.  I have often wondered, how on earth had he ever known of such a thing happening to some other family?

I did not realize it at the time, but I began to see that he must have noticed behavior of the boys when they were over there baby sitting, and the boys may have talked with him as well.  He had the opportunity to see or hear about this for himself.

Our son did  just fine baby sitting, and in fact, over the next few weeks, he “came out of a shell”, did great at school and with his friends.  He and a best friend bought new clothes together and dressed alike at school.   This got the best kind of attention from all the other kids.  Dating started, and he got a part time job too, for extra money beyond his “allowance”.  


But, there was still that sense of our son having felt he was being attacked.  There was also my husbands recurring nightmare with our son having the same dream at the same time.   What had happened?


When I had psychic powers for three years, (as mentioned in earlier dreams), I had psychic friends who had recognized this about me.  In particular, one woman who lived in the area, maybe 30 or so miles away, often had been coming to visit me.  And, there had been two guys too, with whom I had corresponded but never met. 

 
I received a letter following these events during the next week from the one man saying that he had “tuned in” on me, and that some other psychic was trying to cut off his contact with me, and he himself had really been clobbered and put in his place.  He even told me that there was some impression of the guy counting to very high numbers, to keep him from getting at the other man.  I wrote back and told him he had attacked my own family, not some other psychic.  He told me that was ridiculous.

My response to it at the time it was happening, had been to prayerfully picture as if I put up a mirror all around myself and my family,  and reflected any attack back to whomever, whatever and wherever and when ever any attack was thrown at my family or me from anywhere. 

It had been reminiscent of the energy of the huge black dog with red eyes. It was meant to hold me in a limiting place, and with no one else coming between. I was not to be hurt by it, but anyone who seemed to be in the way of that relating to me, was a target. 

At the time I prayed to win free of such a psychic contact.  I wanted that kind of window which had been open in me to shut out any such use of psychic power, and if I had been a channel for it to my family, I wanted that to never be possible again. I would far rather give up and lose such power forever than have it attack my family that way. If it had been handled poorly, perhaps our son might have not recovered from it.  

Medically, if our son had not recovered, the medical reasons given would have been his high fever and convulsions.  He was always very receptive, picked up on people’s feelings, emotions and confusions, and became extremely able to help them. He became a Doctor of Psychology, and works in that field even now past retirement age.

He and his eventual family never saw it as I had, and referred to it as his psychotic episode. 

My husband never quite believed in psychic powers, but his recurring childhood nightmare suggests  he had fought something like that off when he was a child.

The man who said he had fought another psychic told me that he was burned out, and never had any psychic power again.  

I did not realize until two years later that this willingness to renounce such power is the way to get it under control, to learn how to use it without side effects.

I was given to know that we cannot renounce the gift of Spiritual Functioning.  We are to learn how it is to be used.  It will only be our own part in what is done, but we do have to learn how to use that Spiritual gift.  I do not know if everyone would have to learn this the hard way, as I did.  I can hope that the intention to try to use the psychic powers wisely and well for the benefit of others, and not to show off or take advantage, would protect themselves and their loved ones from harm.   But, many do seem to ask how to protect themselves from psychic attack.  My experience is, learn how to use this as spiritual power, with guidance and asking to be stopped if you are going wrong, or doing harm.  Watch out for the unexpected side effects.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*